The leader in Me — by Stephen Covey


I can’t imagine how a child as little as elementary school can be taught Leadership principles. At least I didn’t get that kind of education when I was a child. Perhaps when I was entering my third job that I became aware of the importance of leadership and start to learn by experience.

Mr Covey explained that he himself was surprised by the result of A.B Comb did to their students. The principal of that school has choose Leadership as its magnet theme. They use 7 habits and Baldrige tools as the foundation. The result was amazing, the score test getting better, the number of students breaking rules reduced and the most important one is that the children there were prepared with the most important skill for their future.

I wish I can find that kind of school in Jakarta, but perhaps, it will start in another couple of years..I guess I have to start it in my own house.

To be honest, I have no idea how to do it. I’ll do some more research on it. Prepare the tools, learn how the leadership school did. I hope they explain it on their web🙂

But the most important start is to learn and do the 7 habits myself. I guess I still have lots to learn and practice. I’m going to read that book again..

3 responses to “The leader in Me — by Stephen Covey

  1. Hi, cool post. I have been thinking about this issue,so thanks for posting. I will probably be coming back to your blog. Keep up the good work

  2. There are three schools in Jakarta that has been implementing The Leader in Me in their school supported by Dunamis Foundation as a representative for FranklinCovey in Jakarta. PSKD Mandiri School located at Jl. HOS Cokroaminoto Jakpus. http://pskd-mandiri.co.id/. They started since 2009. Sekolah An-Nisaa’ located at Jl Raya Jombang Bintaro. They have started since 2010. SDN Bendungan Hilir 12. They have just started on 1st October 2011.

    • Wow, thanks Andiral Purnomo for the info. Glad to hear that! I hope it do make changes for Indonesian education.
      Sent from my BlackBerry®
      powered by Sinyal Kuat INDOSAT

Leave a Reply

